So Much New Software

First, I would like to say Happy Birthday to my bestfriend.

Anyways, don’t you all love that feeling you get when you install a ton of new software?  Almost feels like moving into a new house or sleeping in a hotel doesn’t it?  No?  Maybe that’s only me.  Well, this weekend I installed a ridiculous amount of new software, and just wanted to let you know about a few of the best.

Growl finally added a slew of support for Windows programs, instead of only OS X ones.  If you don’t know what Growl is, it is basically a global notification system for a bunch of applications.  Sadly, I didn’t use half of the software that had just became supported, so of course I decided to download it all.

Songbird is one that completely amazes me.  It blows both iTunes and Zune desktop software away, although everything blows iTunes away already.  It is basically the Firefox of music players.  Although it doesn’t really concern me, it uses around half the RAM to run as iTunes, so there’s one plus.  It comes with support for many handy add-ons, such as immediately finding the lyrics for around 90% of my music, displaying all nearby concerts of the artists you listen to, a few hundred appearance add-ons, and even a remote control app for the iphone.  I highly recommend checking it out.

Lastly, I wanted to talk about Koornk, which is completely amazing.  These last few days I have been thoroughly pissed off at how often Twitter randomly locks me out of my account (on first log-in, with my saved password), and how stopping following certain people just doesn’t register.  After wanting to reach into my computer screen and choke Jack Dorsey to death, I decided to look for something else.

This is how I found Koornk, which is pretty much the same thing and more.  It allows for pings, so I can immediately new blog posts to it without extensive modding, 150 characters as opposed to Twitters 140, the same following/follower/reply system as Twitter, and you can even send your “clucks” to become “tweets” on your Twitter account just by checking a box.  It’s really packed full of features, those are just a few of them.

Anyways, not much is really new this last week that I can think of.  I’m just being a bum like always.

The only other thing I did this weekend, was go see fireworks.  It was pretty fun, although all fireworks are quite a bore.  I know, how unamerican of me.

I’m out.

-That One Person

3 Responses to “So Much New Software”

  1. Buzz buzz to the yayo! 😀
    I like when you talk nerdy to me.

  2. Songbird sounds decent. I’ll have to check it out at some point. I am having high hopes for it running on my laptop. High hopes are a bad thing.

    • That-One-Person Says:

      Why only high hopes? If you can run firefox, you should be able to run songbird, it’s built on the same thing. Can even browse the net just like with firefox with it.

      Lemme how how it works, dude. =)

Leave a Reply

