Valentines Day

Well, it was a day like any other.  The only real difference was my absence of you, my absence of love, and my absence of happiness was shoved in my face just about every second of the damn day.

One thing I am not going to do is whine about the purpose of today like other people that feel out of place today.  I am not going to sit here and say this day was invented by the corporations, invented for money, and has a false purpose.  This is just their way to deal with a holiday that makes them feel down.  The truth is this argument could be used for any number of holidays, since they almost all involve shopping.  Christmas, Valentines Day, Easter, Halloween, even the 4th of July.  I could easy say any of those were created for money, when in reality none of them truly were.  They may have lost some of their meanings but they were all created with a good purpose.

Just because I am not complaining about the true meaning of this holiday does not mean it doesn’t depress me, because it does.  It depresses me more than anything.

You see, I am quite a romantic person I believe, if you let me be.  My largest problem with romance is that no one else cares much for it anymore.  Then, when people aren’t romantic back or reject my romanticism it just turns me into all sorts of a bad person, replacing romance with the much more popular physical alternatives.  I’ll leave that discussion for another day though.

Valentines Day is a day I look forward to all year.  It is the only day where everybody tries to act like they are as romantic as me.  Is it the only day where I can look forward to you treating me like I enjoy treating you.  It is also sadly the day that I always manage to end up alone on.

Maybe next year.  I love you.

-That One Person

2 Responses to “Valentines Day”

  1. Half way through, you kinda changed who you were talking to.
    Otherwise, me likey.
    GTFO. XD

  2. ❤ I wish i could have been your valentine. im sorry. I just got the worst feeling of feeling bad. I just feel bad for everyone when i cant do something that i wish I could do then I get mad at the world for being tha way it is. =/

Leave a Reply

